Joint Resistance Leadership forms six-member committee for ‘future strategy ’

A six-member committee will give its recommendations for formulating a “future strategy” on “taking forward the movement for right to self-determination” after seeking inputs from different sections of the society, the Joint Resistance Leadership comprising Syed Ali Geelani, Mirwaiz Umar Farooq and Yasin Malik said after meeting here Tuesday.

The JRL also appealed the people to march towards Lal Chowk on 19 May to register their peaceful protest against Indian Prime Minister Naredra Modi’s visit to Jammu and Kashmir, a spokesman of the amalgam said.

Modi will address the sixth convocation ceremony of the Sher-e-Kashmir University of Agricultural Sciences and Technology in Jammu this week.

“A six-member committee will hold wide-ranging deliberations with traders and employees federations, civil society, lawyers, journalists, student unions and religious leaders and accordingly present its recommendations to the resistance leadership for a concrete strategy for taking forward the movement for right to self-determination,” the spokesman said.